Seven Ages of Britain


July 12, 2016

Expired 3.0 11 x
In the last episode, David Dimbleby looks at how the 20th century saw ordinary Britons upturning ancient power structures and class hierarchies. The catalyst was the First World War, which embroiled the whole nation and called traditional values into question. The result was an ever-growing 'democratization' of culture, wi...

July 5, 2016

Expired 3.0 13 x
The story of the British Empire from 1750 to 1900, revealed through its art and treasures. David Dimbleby travels through Britain, America and India, tracing the descent from adventure and inspiration into moral bankruptcy as the Empire became a self-serving bureaucratic machine.

June 28, 2016

Expired 3.0 9 x
In the 18th century, the triumph of commerce led to the emergence of a new 'middle' class, a group of people who craved pleasure and novelty, and developed its own tastes in art. The result was a golden age in painting, with Hogarth, Reynolds and Gainsborough reinventing the British style.

June 21, 2016

Expired 3.0 9 x
In the 17th century, the people of Britain learned to question everything. The result was the Civil War, in which everyone, including artists, had to take sides. Out of it came a reinvented monarchy, a scientific revolution and, ultimately, the great cathedral of St Paul's. Highlights include the courtly portraits of Ruben...

June 14, 2016

Expired 3.0 11 x
The story of Britain through its art and treasure. This episode looks at the Tudors and spans from Henry VIII's accession in 1509 to the first performance of Shakespeare's Henry VIII exactly 100 years later. David Dimbleby shows how the Tudors used art as an instrument of power and propaganda. Featuring a look at Henry VII...

June 7, 2016

Expired 3.0 9 x
The story of British art in the Middle Ages, spanning from the murder of Thomas Becket in 1170 to the death of Richard II in 1400. It was an age defined by worship - whether worship of God, the king, or one's lady love.

May 31, 2016

Expired 3.0 15 x
David Dimbleby tells the story of Britain through its art and treasure. The first part of the chronicle begins with the Roman invasion and ends with the Norman Conquest.
Episodes 2013

6. Age of Empire

3.0 59 x
The story of the British Empire from 1750 to 1900, revealed through its art and treasures.(R)

5. Age of Money

3.0 16 x
The story of Britain in the 18th century, as a new 'middle' class emerged.(R)

4. Age of Revolution

3.0 24 x
In the 17th century British people learned to question everything, resulting in civil war.(R)
We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.